Kage no Eiyuu no Nichijou-tan Arc 3 – Chapter 31

The Beginning of Night


That day, after school.

“We won’t take action today.”

I told Elysia and the others, as we met up to dismantle the bombs.

“What do you mean by, ‘won’t’?”

“This morning, I’ve already checked all the magical tools in the warehouse, and there were no additional bombs prepared…So we can each take a break for today. We should gradually get back to practicing for the festival.”

“Well…that is true. We’ve been slacking off on practice recently.”

Following Elysia, Gran and Mize also seem to be convinced.

Mize and I head to the training grounds for the Hawk Team, while Elysia and Gran head to the training grounds for the Lion Team. After watching Mize meet up with the other Exodus members, I turn on my heels and head for a hidden place behind the school building.

After confirming that there was no one else in the vicinity, I take out a [Communication Paper] from my pocket and activate it.

“What’s wrong, Tweight?”

“I’ll solve it tonight.”

I concisely state to Chris, who answered the transmission.

“I just thought that I should inform you.”

“…I understand. As for how you were able to settle it, please inform me later.”

“Yeah.”

After ending the brief communication, I continued to spend time in this inconspicuous place.

It all ends– at night.

The sun had set, and the academy was completely silent.

Several men, clad in black cloaks, infiltrated the academy while hiding the sounds of their footsteps.

“Move as planned.”

“Roger that.”

There was no hesitation in the men’s movements. They seem to have completely grasped the academy’s layout when they planted the bombs. I was impressed by their swift, efficient movements.

“…It’s just like the information said. The bombs have been removed.”

One of the men says while fiddling with the magical tools in the warehouse.

Perhaps their collaborator had informed them in advance that the bombs had been dismantled. The men didn’t seem surprised, as they quietly began to install bombs.

— I guess I should crush them around this point.

 Hiding behind the men, I created a dagger with <Fixation> and threw it at the neck of a man who was about to install a bomb.

“Gah– !?”

The man fell, letting out a short groan.

“Wh-what the– ugh!?”

The man in front, who turned to look back, had his neck twisted 180 degrees.

I threw the man’s body, which had turned pale, at the figure on the left. At the same time, I create another dagger with <Fixation> and thrust it into the stomach of the man on the right.

“W-we need back-up!”

“Tch.”

I click my tongue as a <Bullet> pierces the man’s head.

The man’s right hand was gripping a [Communication Paper]…if possible, I would have liked to end this without having them call for back-up, since as expected, it would be difficult to deal with more people.

My aim is to annihilate the enemies who have infiltrated this school.

I went out into the schoolyard and deliberately exposed myself. After a while, 4 men approached, surrounding me in a formation.

“Bastard…are you a student?”

“So, what if I am?”

I tell the man in doubt with a sigh.

“There are plenty of students stronger than you.”

The 4 men attack simultaneously.

Both the enemy and I activated <Rage> at around the same time.

I stab the first man with a dagger I had made beforehand with <Fixation> before kicking him in the stomach. Moving on from the man who flew off, I shoot <Bullet> into the head of the second man.

— <Flash Blade>

I force the transparent blade through the neck of the third man, who was stiff from shock.

“R-ridiculous, so quickly… ugh!?”

I shoot the fourth man with <Bullet> as his eyes widen.

If anything, they didn’t specialize in combat, but rather, in construction. In any case, they were easily defeated.

“What are you going to do? At this rate, your strategy won’t succeed.”

My voice echoes throughout the silent academy.

Immediately after, a man clad in a red cloak appears from above. It was the attacker that Elysia and I fought last night.

As barrages of flames closed in from both sides, I avoided them by moving directly behind him.

The next moment, I had closed in on the enemy. Blocking a kick aimed at the side of my head with the back of my hand, I face the man, who had hidden his face behind a hood, and open my mouth.

“There’s no point in hiding your face– Vallen Stielen.”

When I clearly state his name, the attacker stops moving.

“The fuck, how’d ya find out?”

Saying that, the man removed his hood.

Deep crimson hair, which resembled a stream of boiling blood, appeared.

The academy’s number one problem child, Vallen Stielen, gives a ferocious smile.


<- Previous Chapter | Series Page | Next Chapter ->

Syosetu


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started