Kage no Eiyuu no Nichijou-tan Arc 3 – Epilogue

Strength


A few minutes after the battle had concluded.

After reporting to Chris, I was letting my heated body cool in the evening breeze when I heard a groan from the figure lying at my feet.

“Are you awake?”

“…Yeah.”

Vallen, who was lying on the ground, replied while looking at the night sky.

“You’re strong…Never thought I’d lose to a student like me.”

Vallen says as he slowly sits up.

“Since you’re that strong, you probably don’t understand my thoughts.”

“…You also seem strong enough.”

“I’ve become strong…after losing something important.”

Somehow, I could sense that that important thing was Frau Dulight.

That’s why this man values a sense of danger.

With the sense of danger obtained from losing something important to him, this man finally gained the strength to stand undefeated on the battlefield. But even though he finally gained that strength, what he lost will never return. And so, in order to lessen the number of people who will suffer as he had, this man had tried to spread a sense of danger among the people of this country– so that next time, he would make it in time.

“…You’re the one who doesn’t understand.”

“Ahn?”

“I’ll return your words.”

I tell him, letting out a sigh.

“Vallen. You are strong, so you don’t understand how the weak think…Don’t think that everyone in this country can continue to fight like you. There are only a handful of people that can vow to fight in an everlasting battlefield. Most will be exhausted and eventually crushed.”

This doesn’t just apply to physical strength.

Strength of heart. Or even strength of spirit. Whatever it may be– it isn’t right to impose your strength on others.

“That’s why peace is necessary. Even if it’s only a temporary one…there are people who need it.”

It could be an ordinary person found anywhere; it could be a classmate…it could even be me.

I too felt the emptiness in endless battle. If the Great War had continued until now, I would already have gone mad. If I didn’t attend the academy, but instead, continued to fight with Chris as a person of the “Back”, I would surely have become like Oz; a weapon that indifferently killed enemies.

“I still don’t agree with that.”

Vallen mutters in a small voice.

“But…well, I’ll seriously give it some thought.”

As Vallen told me this, I let out a deep breath.

For the time being, the operatives of the Empire of Lucia won’t infiltrate the academy anymore.

But I’m still curious about something–

— Just how much did that Student Council President know?

The President seems to have noticed Vallen’s dissatisfaction. He even said something that led to Vallen and I fighting.

Right now, that man might still be watching us from somewhere.

“…It seems like it’s over.”

Ix mutters, having watched the fight between the two from the roof of the school building.

The girl with light-purple hair beside him, Sheria, also stroked her chest, seeing that the situation had been settled.

“President. How much did you explain to him~?”

“Almost nothing. But I think he understood.”

“I still don’t think that this was a good idea~ Letting that rabid dog vent on a shiny new freshman~…”

“It couldn’t be helped. Vallen wouldn’t have listened to anything I had to say. And so, I needed someone besides me to confront him.”

Ix says while absent-mindedly looking at the two people in the schoolyard.

Vallen, who was lying on the ground, had a peaceful expression. It had been a long time since he had shown a face like that.

“Besides, if he didn’t vent at this timing, I fear for what will happen later.”

“Well, certainly, rather than having him go on a rampage during the festival, I guess this might be better~”

Ix smiled at Sheria, who was convinced.

“Well then, I’ll be going.”

“You’re going? Where to~?”

“The garrisons of the knight orders. I have to restore the loosened security.”

Besides, I also have to tell Mira, who is on standby at the school gate, that her mission is over. Come to think of it, I remember that, for some reason, there was a group of figures that gathered at the school gate.

“But it looks like there are still some operatives left in the academy~”

“Hm? Ahh, come to think of it, I forgot to deal with them. Umm, where did I set that up…”

Ix put a finger on his brow and sensed the presences of the enemy.

While Tweight and Vallen were fighting, some operatives had infiltrated the academy again. They numbered 10. They were dispersed among various warehouses and lookout points.

After grasping the locations of the operatives, Ix lightly lifted his right hand.

A small magic formation lit up between his thumb and index finger. After putting them together– he snapped his fingers.

“Yes, that should annihilate them all.”

The traps that he had set up beforehand had activated, and the 10 operatives all fainted at once.

Ix descended the staircase without a change in his complexion.

Two weeks have passed since the battle with Vallen.

Finally, the Magical Games Festival begins.


Author’s Note:

This is the end of the Third Arc.

{Important Announcement}

I know it may be sudden, but I have 2 important announcements!

(1) This work will also be posted on Kakuyomu.

For various reasons, I have also posted this work on Kakuyomu.

I don’t know when the Fourth Arc will begin, but I plan to prioritize uploading to Kakuyomu, and so I would appreciate it if you would bookmark the page on Kakuyomu (and while I’m at it, please place a high ★ rating).

Kakuyomu Link: https://kakuyomu.jp/works/1177354054934584757

(2) Kindly help out with the Light Novel version (Light Novel) as well!!!!

Currently, the market for Light Novels is really tough…and I’ve been told that this work might not be able have a Fourth Volume published at this rate.

For my part, I would like this to publishing the sequel because it improves my motivation to write, and because the Light Novel version is overwhelmingly higher in quality. And, by all means, I would really like this series to continue. (TL/N: also, there are illustrations)

For example, if there is someone who has just finished reading the Third Arc and wants to reread this word from the beginning, by all means, I really hope that you consider picking up the Light Novel version of this work.

The Light Novel version doesn’t just have beautiful illustrations; it also has additional episodes and a collection of various details of the setting, so I promise that you’ll enjoy it even more than the Web Novel version.

Sales will have a great impact on whether or not this work will continue to be published, so I really would appreciate it if you could kindly help out.

For the Light Novel version, currently, Volumes 1 and 2 are on sale. (TL/N: Volume 3 is out too)

Volume 3 will be released on 1/26 (TL/N: 2021)

I don’t think it will be easy for me to be motivated to continue a discontinued work, so, by all means, please support it!

That is all!

Thank you all for your help!!


Translator’s Comments:

After around 2 months, I’ve finally finished translating the Second and Third Arcs of the Web Novel. I’m kind of happy about that.

As you can read in the Author’s Note, and as some of you may have noticed, this series is currently on hiatus. I’ve explained the gist in a previous comment, but I’ll explain it again here. The author’s last update for this series was on the 20th of November 2020, with the last revision being on the 10th of January 2021. He’s currently working on a lot of other series right now as well, such as: Saijaku Munou ga Gyokuza e Itaru, Saijo no Osewa: Takane no Hana-darake na Meimonkou de, Gakuin Ichi no Ojou-sama (Seikatsu Nouryoku Kaimu) wo Kagenagara Osewasuru Koto ni Narimashita, Jinmyaku Cheat de Hajimeru Hitomakase Eiyuu-tan, as well as numerous others (just look at his Twitter and Syosetu Pages, he’s writing a lot of stuff simultaneously; you can also see this in other Author’s Note’s that have been translated). For the near future, the only thing we can do is hope that this series will eventually resume. If the continued serialization of the manga is anything to go by, the author may still continue this series (cope).

So, yeah, there’s not much that I think can be done about it, unless some people are willing to buy the Japanese version of the Light Novel, or it gets an official English adaptation and gets more sales from that. Currently, the Light Novels are available on Amazon (where I got my copies), BookWalker (link leads to the Japanese site, but apparently, you can purchase it from the English site), and other sites. Please note that if you really aren’t able to or simply just don’t want to, you don’t have to force yourselves to buy the Light Novel; it’s completely understandable.

As for my future plans, as I did buy the physical copies of the Light Novels, I’ll translate the Extra Chapter (Gaiden) of Volume 1, which features Princess Sophia and the Hero. It may take a while, since I can’t just copy-paste Japanese text, but I do plan on translating and posting it here. I’ll also probably post a comparison of the distribution of chapters in the Light Novels (which have around 4 chapters per volume, excluding the Prologue and Epilogue) to the Web Novel. I might also make this website like a wiki for this series. And if, by some chance, this series ends its hiatus, I want to continue translating it. After that, I’m not sure if I’ll be picking up any other series, but if you don’t expect much, you can give suggestions.

Once again, I hope you’ve enjoyed this, and thank you for reading this far. Please let me know if there are any errors or suggestions, and I will try to correct them.


<- Previous Chapter | Series Page | Next Arc (When?) ->

Syosetu


7 responses to “Kage no Eiyuu no Nichijou-tan Arc 3 – Epilogue”

  1. Thank you so much for catching up to the published chapters. I really enjoyed the read, and your translation quality was excellent. I’m very glad that I chose to start this one, even though I usually don’t read projects that I already know are paused. (I just get sad)

    Here is to hoping that there will be a volume four!!

    Like

  2. Hi, I am Fleeting from the Fan’s Translations group (https://www.novelupdates.com/group/fans-translations/). I read your novel and felt like inviting you to join my group.

    We have around 40 ongoing novels and a large reader base (2 million monthly page views) waiting to try out your novel. Not only that, you are free to use ko-fi, Patreon etc. Moreover, we also offer ad revenue of 60 cents per 1,000 page views (100% yours) which is at least 20% higher than Adsense.

    Our site is fully customized for translators so you can save a lot of time and focus on more productive matters. Other than that, you will not be required to pay any maintenance fee.

    You are free to decide your own schedule etc as we don’t put any restriction on our translators.

    You can reach out to me by email or fill form onhttps://fanstranslations.com/contact/

    Regards,
    Fleeting

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started